Staff & Governance

A committed and enthusiastic staff and governance team work tirelessly with the Foundation, Old Collegians' Association and various Committees to ensure the continued success of the College.

The Chairman of Council is Mr Richard Burchnall, retired Headmaster of St Peter’s College, and a member of the St Mark’s College Council since 1994.

College staff

Master: Ms Rose Alwyn BA, MBA

The Head of the College is known as “the Master” and is the Academic and Executive Head (CEO) of the College.  The Master is directly responsible to the College Council and Board for the overall welfare of the College and its students, and for ensuring that all aspects of the College are effectively managed, and that the College enjoys a good standing within the universities and the broader community.

The Master’s responsibilities are to provide leadership and oversight in regard to many aspects of the life of the College; academic life; pastoral care; finance and administration; marketing, public relations and fundraising; strategic planning; external relations.

Dean: Ms Raphaela Oest B.Com., Grad Dip FEDM

The Dean is responsible for the pastoral care of the students, providing professional support and advice on student governance matters, a wide range of administrative roles including oversight of the admissions procedure for new students and will also work closely with the Director of Learning to ensure the College provides the best support and care of students’ physical, mental, emotional and academic wellbeing.

Assistant Deans: Ms Sarina Ferguson and Mr Hamish Storey

The primary role of the Assistant Deans, like that of the Dean, is to assist students in various ways when needed, and to encourage behaviour in line with the College Code of Conduct and to liaise between the College staff and students.

Director of Learning:  Ms Katherine Radoslovich BInt(Hon), BDev

The Director of Learning is responsible for ensuring high level academic support through the College’s tutorial and mentor program, facilitating outcomes for students in their transition from university to employment, building and improving strategic partnerships with the universities and wider community, and will also work closely with the Dean in ensuring the best possible support and care of all students.

Director Development & Marketing: Ms Sarah Hampel BA

The Director Development & Marketing is responsible for the fundraising and marketing of the College.

Property Manager: Mr Richard Foster  B.Ed., Dip Child Psych

The Property Manager is responsible for the maintenance and development of the buildings and grounds in the College.

Chaplain: The Rev’d Grant Moore

The Chaplain has a particular responsibility for the spiritual underpinnings of the College. This includes the conduct of the Commencement, Founders’ Day and Final Services and regular Morning Prayer meetings in the Chapel, but also more generally, praying for the life of the College and for its staff and students and being available for advice and counselling of a personal and spiritual nature.

Receptionist: Mrs Anne Verwey

Finance Officer: Ms Lorraine Burgess

Librarian: Mrs Pirjo Rayner LAA, AALIA

Archivist: Ms Monica Smith


College Governance

The Council

Under its Constitution, the Council of St Mark’s College is responsible for overseeing the operations of the College and its strategic direction and plans.  The Board, appointed by the Council, is constituted to control and manage the affairs of the College.  In 2018, the College Council appointed a new Chair, Ms Linda Matthews.

The membership of the Council is as follows:

Ex Officio
The Master of the College, Ms R S Alwyn
The President of the Old Collegians’ Association
Mr C A Williams
The President of the College Club
Mr B J Massey

Appointed By;

Council of the University of Adelaide
Mr M S Physick
Old Collegians’ Association
Mr M D H van Dissel and Ms S K Filsell
Bishops of the Province of SA
The Very Rev’d F Nelson
College Club Committee
Ms E M de Jager

Council under Rule 6(f);

  • Ms L Matthews (Chair)
  • Dr A M Evans
  • Mr A C Lee
  • Dr M J Nottage
  • Dr J Mawby
  • Mr M H Pemmiment
President of the Foundation
Mr J K G Price
The Board

The members of the interim Board are:

  • Ms L Matthews (Chair)
  • The Master, Ms R S Alwyn
  • Mr M H Penniment
  • Dr A M Evans
  • Mr A C Lee
  • Mr S A Murray

College news

Keep up to date with events at College and student news.

St Mark's Virtual Tour

We'd love to hear from you

For accommodation or function enquiries, or to arrange a personal tour of the College, please make contact!

Our Location

St Mark’s College

46 Pennington Terrace, North Adelaide

South Australia, 5006

Contact Us

P: +618 8334 5600

F: +618 8267 4694


Tour the College

You can arrange a personal tour at any time by contacting the College office on
+61 8 8334 5600.